« Apocalypse Now? | Main | 2009 CGI: Where Did Our Love Go? »

2009 CGI: Clinton Global Citizen Award Winners

September 23, 2009

Late this afternoon, the folks at CGI announced the third annual Clinton Global Citizen Awards. The award recognizes remarkable individuals for their leadership in improving the lives of people around the globe.

This year's honorees are:

Paul Kagame, President, Republic of Rwanda
Leadership in Public Service

Asha Hagi Elmi Amin, Chairperson, Save Somali Women and Children
Leadership in Civil Society

Peter Bakker, Chief Executive Officer, TNT
Leadership in the Corporate Sector

Dr. Rola Dashti, Parliament Member, State of Kuwait
Leadership in Public Service

Ruchira Gupta, President, Apne Aap Women Worldwide
Leadership in Civil Society

Quincy Jones, Founder, Quincy Jones Foundation
Leadership in Philanthropy

For more information about the winners, click here.

-- Mitch Nauffts


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Quote of the Week

  • "[L]et me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is...fear itself — nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance...."

    — Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32nd president of the United States

Subscribe to PhilanTopic


Guest Contributors

  • Laura Cronin
  • Derrick Feldmann
  • Thaler Pekar
  • Kathryn Pyle
  • Nick Scott
  • Allison Shirk

Tweets from @PNDBLOG

Follow us »

Filter posts