« Philanthropy's Leadership Moment? | Main | Stories Are a Vital Source of Knowledge »

ANNOUNCEMENT: 74th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards Winners

September 10, 2009

Anisfield_wolf_medal I'm a fan of recognition award programs -- especially when they honor great writing and have been around as long as the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. Now in its seventy-fourth year, the program was created by Edith Anisfield Wolf, a poet and civic activist who became passionately committed to social justice as a young girl growing up in Cleveland, and is the only juried American literary competition devoted to recognizing books that have made an important contribution to society's understanding of racism and the diversity of human cultures. The competition has been administered by the Cleveland Foundation since the death of Anisfield Wolf in 1963.

This year's Anisfield-Wolf winners are:

Congratulations to the winners! To learn more about the Anisfield-Wolf awards, click here.

-- Mitch Nauffts

« Previous post    Next post »


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Quote of the Week

  • "[L]et me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is...fear itself — nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance...."

    — Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32nd president of the United States

Subscribe to PhilanTopic


Guest Contributors

  • Laura Cronin
  • Derrick Feldmann
  • Thaler Pekar
  • Kathryn Pyle
  • Nick Scott
  • Allison Shirk

Tweets from @PNDBLOG

Follow us »

Filter posts