« Newsmaker: Tom Tierney, Chairman/Co-Founder, Bridgespan Group | Main | Return of the Mega-Gift »

ANNOUNCEMENT: American Express NGEN Leadership Award Nomination Deadline Extended

May 11, 2011

Do you work with or know a nonprofit leader who:

  • Demonstrates transformative impact in their field beyond their organization;
  • Displays a proven ability to collaborate in innovative, inclusive ways;
  • Identifies needs, generates solutions, and assesses progress toward goals;
  • Is currently employed by a U.S.-based nonprofit or non-governmental organization; and
  • Is age 40 or under?

Then hop on over to the Independent Sector site to nominate that person for the 2011 American Express NGEN Leadership Award.

Now in its second year (click here to learn more about last year's finalists and the 2010 winner, Darell Hammond), the program honors an accomplished nonprofit leader age 40 or under who has demonstrated significant impact in addressing society's critical needs.

The winner of the 2011 NGEN Leadership Award will be honored at the John W. Gardner Leadership Dinner, October 31, during Independent Sector's annual conference in Chicago. In addition to recognition for his/her efforts at the conference, the winner will receive:

  • a $3,000 leadership scholarship to further develop his/her leadership skills and strategies;
  • scholarship admission to NGen: Moving Nonprofit Leaders from Next to Now, October 29-30 (just prior to the IS conference);
  • complementary registration to the IS conference;
  • membership on the 2012 American Express NGen Award Selection Committee;
  • recognition on the IS Web site, as well as in a press release, IS member publications, and the 2011 annual conference program; and
  • roundtrip airfare to and lodging for the conference.

Finalists for the award will be asked to demonstrate transformative impact, speak clearly to their core values as a leader, and participate in a virtual Leadership Forum with the NGen community to discuss issues of importance to young leaders and the nonprofit community as a whole.

The nomination deadline for the award has been extended through May 16. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

To nominate a nonprofit leader for the award, click here.

« Previous post    Next post »


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Quote of the Week

  • "[L]et me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is...fear itself — nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance...."

    — Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32nd president of the United States

Subscribe to PhilanTopic


Guest Contributors

  • Laura Cronin
  • Derrick Feldmann
  • Thaler Pekar
  • Kathryn Pyle
  • Nick Scott
  • Allison Shirk

Tweets from @PNDBLOG

Follow us »

Filter posts